Sign up for Email Alerts Make a Donation

Congratulations to all of our victorious 2014 candidates


Citizen Action/Illinois & The Progressive Action Project

·   Advocating for progressive values and a progressive agenda in Springfield and Washington, DC

·   Organizing and building coalitions that are committed to social justice and economic fairness

·   Reaching out into communities and educating the public about issues and candidates

·   Registering people to vote and encouraging them to participate in the political process

Citizen Action/Illinois is not only the largest consumer watchdog group in Illinois, but also one of the most effective vehicles for progressive political involvement in our state.

Congratulations to all of our victorious 2014 candidates

Each election cycle, Citizen Action’s political action committee, the Progressive Action Project, convenes to make endorsements for public office.  Candidates who wish to be endorsed by the organization are required to complete a questionnaire which outlines the broad policy positions taken by Citizen Action/Illinois.  In the case of incumbents, Citizen Action will also consider their score on our Legislative Scorecard (click here for Citizen Action/Illinois 2014 Illinois Legislative Scorecard).  In order to receive an endorsement, a candidate must have 60% of the votes cast by the committee.

Statewide Offices: Governor-, Attorney General- Lisa Madigan, and Secretary of State-Jesse White.

For State Senate: Mattie Hunter-3, Senator Bill Cunningham-18, Senator Terry Link-30, and Don Harmon-39.

For State Representative: Pamela Reeves-Harris-10, Greg Harris-13, Kelly M. Cassidy -14, Lou Lang -16, William “Will” Davis-30, Al Riley-38, Will Guzzardi -39, Mike Smiddy-71 and Carol Ammons-103.

Cook County Clerk: David Orr

For Commissioner of the Cook County Board: Richard Boykin-1, Jerry Butler-3, Stan Moore-4, Deborah Sims-5, Peter Silvestri-9, John Daley-11, Larry Suffredin-13, Jeffrey Toboloski-16

Cook County Board of Review: Larry Rogers, Jr.

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner: Tim Bradford

Appellate Court, 1st Judicial District: John Simon, Steele vacancy;

Cook County Judicial Circuit: Kristal Rivers, Connors vacancy; Cynthia Cobbs, McDonald vacancy; Andrea Buford, Veal vacancy; Bridget Anne Mitchell, Arnold vacancy

The PAC endorsed the following ballot advisory initiatives:

·   Increase the minimum wage to $10 per hour,

·   Millionaire’s surcharge on income over $1 million,

·   Requiring insurance plans to cover prescription birth control, and

·   Cook County requirement for universal background checks and the prohibition of the sale and transfer of assault weapons and high capacity ammunition.

Two proposed constitutional amendments were also supported:

·   Crime Victims’ Bill of Rights and

·   Prohibition of Election Discrimination.

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0in; mso-para-margin-right:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0in; line-height:115%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}